Best Savings Accounts in Kenya (2026): Compare Interest Rates, Fees and Minimum Balances
In this guide
- Quick comparison: six savings accounts
- The rate gap: what banks actually publish
- Three different "minimums"
- How often can you withdraw?
- When is interest paid?
- Which account fits your needs?
- Gross vs net: what you actually keep
- Five checks before you open an account
- Savings accounts vs fixed deposits
- How to open a savings account in Kenya
- Frequently asked questions
- Research methodology and limitations
A good savings account should help your money grow without making it expensive, or unnecessarily difficult, to access. But the account advertising the highest rate is not automatically the best choice. Minimum balances, withdrawal limits, eligibility and fees can change the outcome.
Start with net return: what you keep after tax and charges. Then check that the account suits how you intend to save. This guide covers six accounts using information the banks themselves publish. Where information is missing or inconsistent, we say so instead of estimating.
Quick comparison: six savings accounts
Presented alphabetically, not ranked by return. An advertised "up to" rate does not establish the rate every customer will receive.
| Account | Published rate | Minimum balance | Monthly fee | Access & eligibility |
|---|---|---|---|---|
AB AbsaDigital Savings | Up to 6%Calculated daily, paid monthly | No minimum to start | No service charges | Needs an active Absa Current Account. Confirm withdrawal terms. |
CO Co-operative BankHekima | Rate not statedCalculated daily, paid quarterly | No opening or operating minimum | No maintenance fee | 1 withdrawal per calendar quarter. No ATM or debit card. |
EQ EquityEazzySave | Rate not statedInterest on balances from KES 20,000, paid annually | No operating minimum; opening not specified | No monthly charges | Mobile banking available. Confirm withdrawals and rate. |
KC KCBSimba Savings | Up to 7%8.5% on another page | KES 1,000 opening and operating | No monthly fees | 1 withdrawal per month. Get written confirmation of your rate. |
SC Standard CharteredSavings | Varies; ask branch | Confirm with the bank | None stated in FAQ | 1 withdrawal per calendar quarter. Transacting needs a transactional account. |
SB StanbicPureSave | Base rate not published+1% if no withdrawals for 12 months | Interest above KES 5,000; confirm opening minimum | No monthly fees | 1 free over-the-counter cash withdrawal per month. Check other charges. |
Monogram badges are placeholders for official bank logos. "No monthly fee" does not mean every transaction is free, so check each bank's tariff guide.
The rate gap: what banks actually publish
Only Absa and KCB put a number on the page, and both are "up to" figures. KCB's own pages disagree with each other.
Scale: 10% = full bar. Because of these gaps, this guide does not name a market-wide highest-paying account.
Three different "minimums"
Opening balance, operating balance and the balance that actually earns interest are not the same thing. Record each separately.
Standard Chartered: confirm with the bank. If you are saving KES 10,000, EazzySave's KES 20,000 threshold matters more than its lack of monthly charges.
How often can you withdraw?
For emergency money, access rules matter as much as the rate.
- 1 per monthKCKCB Simba
- 1 per monthSBStanbic PureSave
- 1 per quarterCOCo-op Hekima
- 1 per quarterSCStandard Chartered
- Confirm termsABAbsa Digital
- Confirm termsEQEquity EazzySave
Stanbic's monthly figure is one free over-the-counter cash withdrawal, not all withdrawals or transfers. Quarterly = one withdrawal in each calendar quarter.
When is interest paid?
Monthly
Quarterly
Annually
KCB and Standard Chartered payment frequency was not established from the pages reviewed.
Which account fits your needs?
Digital Savings
- No minimum to start, no service charges, monthly interest
- Needs an active Current Account; check its charges too
Co-op Hekima
- No opening or operating minimum; opens in the Co-op Bank and YEA apps
- 1 withdrawal a quarter, no ATM or debit card
EazzySave
- No operating minimum, no monthly charges, mobile access
- Interest only from KES 20,000, paid annually
KCB Simba
- KES 1,000 to open, free deposits, 1 withdrawal a month
- Pages show up to 7% and up to 8.5%
Standard Chartered Savings
- No monthly fees or charges stated in the FAQ
- Rate varies; transacting needs conversion to a transactional account
Stanbic PureSave
- Interest paid on the 1st of the next month; 1 free OTC withdrawal monthly
- Base rate unpublished; +1% bonus not fully explained
Gross vs net: what you actually keep
KRA lists bank interest as subject to 15% withholding tax, and qualifying interest from specified institutions is final-tax income for individuals. Your circumstances may need specific tax advice.
What could KES 50,000, 100,000 or 500,000 earn?
Illustrative 6% annual rate, balance unchanged for 12 months, simple interest, 15% withholding tax, no fees. These are not quotations for any account.
How fees change the result
Suppose an account hypothetically charged KES 200 a month, or KES 2,400 a year. On KES 50,000 at 6%, the KES 2,550 left after tax would fall to KES 150. None of the accounts here is assigned that charge; the example shows why small savers should compare annual costs alongside rates.
Five checks before you open an account
Confirm the rate for your balance
Ask for the rate on the amount you plan to deposit.- Is the quoted rate annual, and before withholding tax?
- Does it apply to the whole balance or tiers?
- Can the bank change it, and does a withdrawal reduce or cancel interest?
Separate the three minimums
Opening balance, operating balance and interest-earning threshold are not interchangeable. Equity: no operating minimum, but interest from KES 20,000. Stanbic: interest above KES 5,000.Check the complete tariff
Request the current tariff guide, not just the marketing page. Look at:- Cash withdrawals, bank-to-mobile and other-bank transfers
- Statements and other account services
- A required linked current account
- Closing the account
Match withdrawal rules to your goal
For emergency money, access conditions deserve as much attention as the rate. For a planned purchase, restrictions may be an acceptable trade-off, but know what happens if you need the money early.Verify deposit protection
KDIC protects eligible deposits up to KES 500,000 per depositor per institution. Several accounts at the same institution are consolidated, as shown below.
KDIC: the limit is per institution, not per account
above limit
Example: KES 300,000 in one savings account + KES 300,000 in another at the same institution = KES 600,000 held, but cover is still capped at KES 500,000. Check membership and eligibility directly with KDIC; deposit insurance is not an unlimited guarantee.
Savings accounts vs fixed deposits
| Savings account | Fixed deposit | |
|---|---|---|
| Example | Absa Digital Savings | Absa fixed deposit |
| Minimum | No starting minimum | KES 50,000 |
| Interest | Calculated daily, paid monthly | Paid annually or at end of term |
| Access | Accessible, subject to account terms | Locked for the term; KCB's fixed savings page says early redemption forfeits accumulated interest |
Don't mix the two in one rate ranking without explaining the access difference. Before locking money, confirm the term, early-access rules and what happens to your interest.
How to open a savings account in Kenya
Requirements vary by bank. Examples from the accounts reviewed:
| Account | What you'll need |
|---|---|
KC KCB Simba | Valid Kenyan ID or passport, KRA PIN certificate |
CO Co-op Hekima | Original ID or passport plus a copy, copy of KRA PIN |
EQ Equity EazzySave | Original identification document and KRA PIN (individuals) |
SB Stanbic PureSave | Kenyan National ID copy, proof of residence, 3 months of bank statements or a recent payslip |
AB Absa Digital | An active Absa Current Account; have your National ID ready for the online application |
Before you apply: get the current rate and tariff, confirm the interest-earning threshold, read the withdrawal conditions, check whether another account is required, and save a copy of the terms that apply when you open.
Frequently asked questions
Which bank has the highest savings interest rate in Kenya?
This research does not establish a market-wide winner. Several banks do not publish numerical rates, and KCB's official pages contain differing advertised Simba rates. A defensible ranking requires current rate schedules for the same balance and account category.
Which savings accounts have no monthly maintenance fees?
The pages reviewed state no monthly charges or maintenance fees for KCB Simba, Equity EazzySave, Co-operative Bank Hekima, Stanbic PureSave and Standard Chartered Savings. Absa Digital Savings states no service charges apply to that account. Transaction or linked-account charges still need checking.
Can I open a savings account with no minimum balance?
Hekima publishes no opening minimum. Absa Digital Savings says no minimum is needed to start, but requires an active Absa Current Account. Neither means every balance earns the maximum advertised interest.
How much interest will KES 100,000 earn?
At an illustrative 6% annual rate, KES 100,000 earns KES 6,000 gross over 12 months using simple interest. After 15% withholding tax that leaves KES 5,100 before fees. Your actual result depends on your account's rate and terms.
Can I withdraw whenever I want?
Don't assume so. Hekima and Standard Chartered describe one withdrawal per calendar quarter, while KCB Simba permits one a month. Check the consequences of extra withdrawals before opening.
Are savings accounts protected in Kenya?
KDIC protects eligible deposits at member institutions, up to KES 500,000 per depositor per institution. Multiple accounts at the same institution are consolidated.
Does interest get paid monthly?
It depends. Absa Digital Savings and Stanbic PureSave publish monthly payment; Hekima publishes quarterly; Equity EazzySave publishes annual payment.
Research methodology and limitations
This guide uses official bank product pages and FAQs, KRA tax guidance and KDIC deposit-insurance information. Selection was based on identifiable savings products with accessible published terms, not paid placement or a claim to cover every account in Kenya.
- Six accounts only; not a complete market survey
- Published information not independently confirmed with bank staff
- No account was opened or tested
- Numerical rates unavailable for several products
- Full transaction tariffs not verified
- Conflicting KCB rate claims unresolved
- Customer service and bank financial strength not assessed
That's why we recommend accounts by use case rather than declaring a universal winner.
This article provides general information, not personalised financial advice. Rates and terms may change; confirm them with the provider before opening an account.
Join the discussion
Please do not share account numbers, phone numbers, links or other personal details. Comments are general discussion, not advice. All comments are reviewed before they appear, and we may remove comments that break these rules.